Edit ModuleShow Tags

Complete List of the 2016 Best of the East Bay Winners

Where to find each of this year’s winners.



Published:

Culture

Adult Art Classes: Civic Arts Education 111 N. Wiget Ln., Walnut Creek, (925) 943-5846, arts-ed.org.

Art Gallery: Bedford Gallery Walnut Creek, bedfordgallery.org.

Best Chorus: The Blackhawk Chorus blackhawkchorus.com.

Concert Venue: Concord Pavilion 2000 Kirker Pass Rd., Concord, (925) 676-8742, livenation.com/venues/14806/concord-pavilion.

Dance Troupe: Jumpin’ at the Sun jumpinatthesun.org.

Historical Exhibit: John Muir National Historic Site 4202 Alhambra Ave., Martinez, (925) 228-8860, nps.gov.

Movie Theater: Century Blackhawk Plaza 4175 Blackhawk Plaza Cir., Danville, (925) 736-0367, cinemark.com.

Museum: Oakland Museum of California 1000 Oak St., Oakland, (510) 318-8400, museumca.org.

Performing Arts Venue: Lesher Center for the Arts 1601 Civic Dr., Walnut Creek, (925) 943-7469, lesherartscenter.org.

Place for a One-Night Stand: Bankhead Theater 2400 First St., Livermore, (925) 373-6800, livermoreperformingarts.org.

Renovated Arts District: Berkeley bampfa.org, berkeleyrep.org, theuctheatre.org

Theater Troupe: Town Hall Theatre Company 3535 School St., Lafayette, (925) 283-1557, townhalltheatre.com.

 

Food

Bakery: 54 Mint Forno Italiano 1686 Locust St., Walnut Creek, (925) 476-5844, 54mintforno.com.

BBQ: Sauced BBQ and Spirits 2300 First St., Livermore, (925) 961-1300, saucedbbqandspirits.com.

Breakfast: Millie’s Kitchen Lafayette, (925) 283-2397.

Chef: Rodney Worth rodneyworth.com.

Chinese: Uncle Yu’s 999 Oak Hill Rd., Ste. 3, Lafayette, (925) 283-1688; 2005 Crow Canyon Pl., Ste. 160, San Ramon, (925) 275-1818, uncleyus.com.

Coffeehouse: Coffee Shop 1321 Locust St., Walnut Creek, (925) 938-3855, coffeeshop411.com.

Deli: Genova Delicatessen 1105 S. California Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 939-3838; 2064 Treat Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 938-2888, genovadeli.net.

Dessert: SusieCakes 3598 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Lafayette, (925) 299-0210, susiecakes.com.

Fine Dining: Artisan Bistro 1005 Brown Ave., Lafayette, (925) 962-0882, artisanlafayette.com.

Food Truck: Grab and Go Kabob (925) 788-8967, grabandgokabob.com.

Indian: Sargam Indian Cuisine 140 N. Civic Dr., Walnut Creek, (925) 937-2700, sargamindiancuisine.com.

Italian: Montecatini Ristorante and Bar 1528 Civic Dr., Walnut Creek, (925) 943-6608, montecatinirestaurant.com.

Mexican: Los Panchos Mexican Restaurant 480 San Ramon Valley Blvd., Ste. H, Danville, (925) 820-0181; 5872 Pacheco Blvd., Pacheco, (925) 689-4430, lospanchosrestaurant.com.

Middle Eastern: Alborz Restaurant 1829 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 944-9009, orderalborz.com.

Most Acclaimed Restaurant: Commis 3859 Piedmont Ave., Oakland, (510) 653-3902, commisrestaurant.com.

New Restaurant: Telefèric Barcelona 1500 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 300-3826, telefericbarcelona.com.

Patio: The Cooperage American Grille 32 Lafayette Cir., Lafayette, (925) 298-5915, thecooperagelafayette.com.

Pizza: Zachary’s Chicago Pizza Locations in Berkeley, Oakland, Pleasant Hill, and San Ramon, zacharys.com.

Salads: Lettuce Restaurant 1632 Locust St., Walnut Creek, (925) 933-5600, lettucerestaurant.com.

Sandwich Shop: Morucci’s Deli 1218 Boulevard Way, Walnut Creek, (925) 939-2426.

Seafood: Walnut Creek Yacht Club 1555 Bonanza St., Walnut Creek, (925) 944-3474, wcyc.net.

Small Plates: Va de Vi 1511 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 979-0100, vadevi.com.

Steak House: Vic Stewart’s 2270 Balfour Rd., Brentwood, (925) 240-2828; 850 S. Broadway, Walnut Creek, (925) 943-5666, vicstewarts.com.

Sunday Brunch: Scott’s Seafood 2 Broadway, Oakland, (510) 444-3456, scottsjls.com; 1333 N. California Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 934-1300, scottswc.com.

Sushi: Sasa 1432 N. Main St., Walnut Creek, (925) 210-0188, sasawc.com.

Thai: Kacha Thai Bistro 1665 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 988-9877, kachathai.com.

Vietnamese: Vanessa’s Bistro 2 1512 Locust St., Walnut Creek, (925) 891-4790, vanessasbistro2.com.

 

Fitness

Barre Class: The Bar Method Locations in Berkeley, Oakland, San Ramon, and Walnut Creek, barmethod.com.

Boot Camp: Push Ups 2 Pin Ups Locations in Brentwood, Concord, and Pleasanton, p2ptransformationcenter.com.

CrossFit Box: CrossFit Danville 3470 Fostoria Way, Ste. B, Danville, (925) 973-0192, cfdanville.com.

EDM Workout: StudioFlex 1610 Oak Park Blvd., Pleasant Hill, (925) 393-5979, flextrainingclub.com.

Gym/Sports Club: Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek 2805 Jones Rd., Walnut Creek, (925) 938-8700, renaissanceclubsport.com.

Personal Trainer: Bill Daniels 2805 Jones Rd., Walnut Creek, (925) 938-8700, renaissanceclubsport.com.

Pilates: Absolute Center 3658 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Lafayette, (925) 299-9642, iloveabsolute.com.

Rock Climbing Gym: Diablo Rock Gym 1220 Diamond Way, Ste. 140, Concord, (925) 602-1000, touchstoneclimbing.com.

Spin Class: Cycle Scape 1657 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 464-1005, cyclescapefitness.com.

Yoga Studio: Yoga Fusion 2217 N. San Ramon Valley Blvd., San Ramon, (925) 378-2530, theyogafusion.com.

Zumba: Our Studio 2041 East St., Concord, (925) 305-3598, ourstudioconcord.com.

 

Fun

Bar Menu: Revel Kitchen and Bar 331 Hartz Ave., Danville, (925) 208-1758, revelkitchenandbar.com.

Beer Bar: ØL Beercafe and Bottle Shop 1541 Giammona Dr., Walnut Creek, (925) 210-1147, beer-shop.org.

Best Way to Earn Your Beer: Fieldwork Outdoor Club 1160 Sixth St., Berkeley, (510) 898-1203, fieldworkbrewing.com.

Brewery/Distillery: Drake’s Brewing Company 2325 Broadway Auto Row, Oakland, (510) 833-6649, drinkdrakes.com.

Comedy Club: Tommy T’s Comedy Club 5104 Hopyard Rd., Pleasanton, (925) 227-1800, tommyts.com.

Date Night Spot: Va de Vi 1511 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 979-0100, vadevi.com.

Girls’ Night Out: 1515 Restaurant and Lounge 1515 N. Main St., Walnut Creek, (925) 939-1515, 1515wc.com.

Happy Hour: Walnut Creek Yacht Club 1555 Bonanza St., Walnut Creek, (925) 944-3474, wcyc.net.

Line Dancing: Mavericks Country Lounge 4825 Hopyard Rd., Pleasanton, (925) 202-5491, maverickscountrylounge.com.

Sports Bar: The Stadium Pub 1420 Lincoln Ave., Walnut Creek, (925) 256-7302, thestadiumpub.com.

Wine Bar: Residual Sugar Wine Bar and Merchant  Walnut Creek, residualsugarwine.com.

Winery: Wente Vineyards Livermore, wentevineyards.com.

 

Beauty

Barbershop: VIP Barber Shop 1810 Colfax St., Concord, (925) 676-5865, vipthebarbershop.com.

Beachwear: Drift Co. 711 Main St., Pleasanton, (925) 789-7345, catchthedrift.co.

Consignment Shop: Labels Luxury Consignment 2629-A Ashby Ave., Berkeley, (510) 356-4144; 1367 N. Main St., Walnut Creek, (925) 952-4566, labelsluxury.com.

Day Spa: Changes Salon and Day Spa 1475 N. Broadway, Walnut Creek, (925) 947-1814, changessalon.com.

Facial: SkinSpirit 1647 N. California Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 952-9200, skinspirit.com.

Men’s Clothing Store: Venture Quality Goods 3571 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Lafayette, (925) 385-0259, venturegoods.com.

Nail Salon: Lavande Nail Spa 3589 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Lafayette, (925) 299-8877, lavandenailspa.com.

Women’s Clothing Store: Vici 1683 N. California Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 954-7475, vicicollection.com.

Women’s Hair Colorist: Caroline Wiseman of Caroline’s Salon 57 Lafayette Cir., Lafayette, (925) 284-1474, carolinessalon.net.

Women’s Hair Salon: Tribez Salon Locations in Danville and Livermore, tribezsalon.com.

Women’s Shoe Store: Tootsies Shoe Boutique $360, 1350-A Park St., Alameda, (510) 545-4422; 175 E. Prospect Ave., Ste. 100, Danville, (925) 552-6638; 5525 College Ave., Oakland, (510) 595-7272, tootsiesboutique.com.

 

Travel

California Park: Yosemite nps.gov/yose, rushcreeklodge.com, southgatebrewco.com.

Desert Escape: Palm Springs visitpalmsprings.com, arrivehotels.com, vpalmsprings.com, cheekysps.com, mrlyonsps.com.

Destination for the Fourth of July: Clayton For information call (925) 673-7300, or go to ci.clayton.ca.us.

Family Destination Resort: Great Wolf Lodge 12681 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, (714) 530-9653, greatwolf.com/southern-california.

Golf Destination: Quail Lodge and Golf Club 8205 Valley Greens Dr., Carmel, (831) 624-2888, quaillodge.com.

Hawaiian Island Resort: Four Seasons Resort Maui 3900 Wailea Alanui Dr., Wailea, Maui, Hawaii, (808) 874-8000, fourseasons.com/maui.

NorCal Beach: Muir Beach nps.gov/goga/planyourvisit/muirbeach.htm, pelicaninn.com.

NorCal Hotel: Lafayette Park Hotel and Spa  Lafayette, lafayetteparkhotel.com.

Scenic Drive: Pacific Coast Highway/Highway 1

Tahoe Ski Resort: Heavenly Mountain Resort  3860 Saddle Rd., South Lake Tahoe, (775) 586-7000, skiheavenly.com.

Wine Country Resort: Silverado Resort and Spa 1600 Atlas Peak Rd., Napa, (707) 257-0200, silveradoresort.com.

 

Shops

Bike Shop: Livermore Cyclery 180 Alamo Plaza, Alamo, (925) 718-8100; 7214 San Ramon Rd., Dublin, (925) 829-4310; 2752 First St., Livermore, (925) 455-8090, livermorecyclery.com.

Car Wash: Lafayette Car Wash and Detail Center 3319 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Lafayette, (925) 283-1190, lafayettecarwash.com.

Design Your Own Glassware: Glassybaby 745 Heinz St., Berkeley, (510) 725-4832, glassybaby.com.

Eyeglasses Shop: Broadway Eyeworks Optometry 1389 N. Broadway, Walnut Creek, (925) 930-7484, broadwayeyeworksoptometry.com.

Green Goods: Monaluna 2061 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 448-8055, monaluna.com.

Home Decor Store: Misto Lino 704 Sycamore Valley Rd. W., Danville, (925) 837-6575; 3585 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Lafayette, (925) 284-6565, mistolino.com.

Indie Bookstore: Rakestraw Books 3 Railroad Ave., Danville, (925) 837-7337, rakestrawbooks.com.

Landscaper: Suma Landscaping Locations in Oakland and San Ramon, sumalandscaping.com.

Mechanic: Walnut Creek Automotive 1855 Contra Costa Blvd., Pleasant Hill, (925) 849-6440, wcauto.mechanicnet.com.

Party Store: Boswell’s Party Supplies Locations in Danville and Lafayette, boswells-party.com.

Plant Nursery: Orchard Nursery and Florist 4010 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Lafayette, (925) 284-4474, orchardnursery.com.

Succulent Shop: Succiko 19577 Center St., Castro Valley, (650) 892-3042, succiko.com.

 

Weddings

Bridal Boot Camp: Martinez Athletic Club 729 Castro St., Martinez, (925) 849-7128, martinezathleticclub.com.

Bridal Boutique: Kinsley James Couture Bridal 1623 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, (925) 330-9228, kinsleyjames.com.

Cake: Katrina Rozelle Pastries and Desserts 215 Alamo Plaza, Ste. B, Alamo, (925) 837-6337; 5931 College Ave., Oakland, (510) 655-3209, katrinarozelle.com.

Calligrapher: Mariko Giverink of Bee Curious Designs etsy.com/shop/beecuriousdesigns.

Custom Invitations: The Aerialist Press 43 Quail Ct., Ste. 203, Walnut Creek, (510) 520-6749, theaerialistpress.com.

Florist: Florali Walnut Creek, florali.com.

Honeymoon Destination: Hawaii 555 Kaukahi St., Wailea, Maui, Hawaii, (808) 874-0500, hotelwailea.com.

Party Rentals: Chairs for Affairs 140 Mason Cir., Ste. J, Concord, (925) 370-1300, chairsforaffairs.com.

Photographer: Josh Isaacs Photography (925) 285-7316, jjisaacs.com.

Wedding Music: Musical Heart Strings (925) 603-3002, musicalheartstrings.net.

Wedding Planner: Linen and Lilac linenandlilac.com.

Wedding Venue: Wente Vineyards 5050 Arroyo Rd., Livermore, (925) 456-2425, wentevineyards.com.

 

Kids

Dance Studio: Funkmode Pleasant Hill, funkmode.com.

Family Photographer: Gretchen Adams Photography (925) 676-7036, gaphotography.com.

Gymnastics Studio: Encore Gym 999 Bancroft Rd., Concord, (925) 932-1033, encoregym.com.

Ice-Cream Shop: Cream Locations in Alameda, Berkeley, Concord, Livermore, Oakland, and Walnut Creek, creamnation.com.

Kids’ Haircut: Cool Tops 2255 Contra Costa Blvd., Pleasant Hill, (925) 798-5214, coolcutsforkids.com.

Kids’ Museum: Lindsay Wildlife Experience 1931 First Ave., Walnut Creek, (925) 935-1978, lindsaywildlife.org.

Museum for Li’l Mechanics: Forest Home Farms’ Tractor Museum 19953 San Ramon Valley Blvd., San Ramon, (925) 973-3284, www.ci.san-ramon.ca.us.

New Kids’ Shop: Prim Pop 560 Main St., Pleasanton, (925) 223-6601, iloveprim.com

Summer Camp: Cal Camps and Youth Programs 2301 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, (510) 643-2267, camps.berkeley.edu.

Swim Lessons: Splash Swim School Locations in San Ramon and Walnut Creek, splashswimschool.com.

Toy Store: Five Little Monkeys 1224 Solano Ave., Albany, (510) 528-4411; 1366 N. Main St., Walnut Creek, (925) 939-4411, 5littlemonkeys.com.

Tutoring: Lafayette Academy 760 San Ramon Valley Blvd., (925) 855-3700, Danville; 3400 Mt. Diablo Blvd., (925) 284-1644, Lafayette; 1400 Moraga Way, (925) 376-0747, Moraga, lafayetteacademy.com.

 

Pets

Animal Shelter, Dog Training Classes: Tony La Russa’s Animal Rescue Foundation 2890 Mitchell Dr., Walnut Creek, (925) 256-1273, arflife.org.

Dog Park: Canine Corral at Hap Magee Ranch Park Danville, danville.ca.gov.

Dog Walker: Danville Trails and Tails (925) 408-1452, danvilletrailsandtails.com.

Groomer: All Fur Love Grooming Salon 714 San Ramon Valley Blvd., Danville, (925) 719-7108, allfurlovegrooming.com.

Hiking Resource: Hikes Dogs Love hikesdogslove.com.

Pet Day Care, Overnight Pet Boarder: Club K9 10671 Crow Canyon Rd., Castro Valley, (855) 364-3293, clubk9.com.

Pet Photographer: Share the Joy Photography (925) 284-3280, sharethejoyphotography.com.

Pet Store: Nitro Dog 61 Lafayette Cir., Lafayette, (925) 962-2275, nitrodog.com.

Place to Call When It’s Time: Rainbow Bridge Vet Services (510) 381-3389, rainbowbridgevet.com.

Rescue Group: Community Concern for Cats (925) 938-2287, communityconcernforcats.org.

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleEdit ModuleShow Tags

Faces

Edit ModuleShow Tags