Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

2018 Best of the East Bay: Complete List of Winners



Published:

 

Arts and Leisure

Art Gallery: Bedford Gallery at Lesher Center for the Arts. Walnut Creek, bedfordgallery.org​

Brewery Tour: Whole Brew World. wholebrewworld​.com​

Community Event: Lafayette Art and Wine Festival. lafayette​festival​.com​

Concert Venue: Concord Pavilion. Concord, live​nation​.com

East Bay–Bred Movie Star: Zendaya

Golf Course: Boundary Oak Golf Course. Walnut Creek, playboundaryoak​.com​

Group Activity: Limitless Escape Games Livermore. Livermore, limitlessescapegames.com

Movie Theater: Century Blackhawk Plaza. Danville, cinemark.com​

Museum: Oakland Museum of California. Oakland, museumca.org

Performing Arts Venue: Bankhead Theater. Livermore, lvpac​.org

Scenic Drive: Mount Diablo. parks​.ca​.gov​

Walking Tour: Local Food Adventures. Lafayette and Oakland, localfoodadventures.com

 

Beauty

Blow-Out: Blow Dry Bar Studio. Danville and Walnut Creek, bdbstudio.com

Day Spa: The Woodhouse Day Spa. Walnut Creek, walnutcreek​.woodhousespas.com

Facial: Changes Salon and Day Spa. Walnut Creek, changessalon.com

Massage: Kure Wellness Retreat. Danville, kurewellnessretreat.com

Men’s Haircut: Empire Barbershop. Concord and Martinez, empire-​barbershop.com

Nail Salon: Bollinger Nail Salon. Multiple locations, bollinger​nailsalon.com

Specialized Treatment Venue: U.S. Cryotherapy. Danville, Pleasanton, San Ramon, and Walnut Creek; uscryotherapy​.com

Women’s Hair Colorist: Caroline Wiseman of Caroline’s Salon. Lafayette, carolines​salon.net

Women’s Hair Salon: Tribez Salons. Blackhawk, Danville, and Livermore; tribez​salon.com

 

Fitness

Barre Studio: The Bar Method. Berkeley, Oakland, and Walnut Creek; barmethod.com

Cycling Classes: Cycle Scape. Walnut Creek, cyclescape​fitness.com

Dance Studio: Funkmode. Concord, funkmode.com

Fitness Studio: Omni Fight Club. Livermore, Pleasanton, and Walnut Creek; omnifightclub.com

Gym/Sports Club: Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek. Walnut Creek, renaissanceclubsport.com/walnut-creek

Hiking Trail: The Rim Trail at the Lafayette Reservoir. Lafayette, ebmud​.com

Personal Trainer: Bill Daniels of Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek. Walnut Creek, renaissanceclubsport.com/walnut-creek

Supportive Coach: Steve Kerr. Oakland, nba.com/warriors

Yoga Studio: Joya Yoga. Dublin, Livermore, and San Ramon; joya​yoga.com

 

Food

Baked Goods: A Sweet Affair Bakery. Walnut Creek, asweet​affairbakery​.com

Barbecue: Sauced BBQ and Spirits. Livermore and Walnut Creek, saucedbbqandspirits.com

Brunch: Millie’s Kitchen. Lafayette, millieskitchenca-hub​.com

Burger: The Counter. Fremont, Pleasanton, and Walnut Creek; thecounter.com

Chef: Ermes Paulin. Walnut Creek, montecatinirestaurant​.com

Chinese: Uncle Yu’s. Lafayette, uncleyus.com

Coffeehouse: Coffee Shop. Alamo, Lafayette, and Walnut Creek; coffeeshop411​.com

Deli: Genova Delicatessen. Walnut Creek, genovadeli.net

Food Truck: Curry Up Now. Multiple locations, curryupnow​.com

Food-World Influencer: Samin Nosrat. Berkeley, ciaosamin​.com

Ice Cream: Lottie’s Creamery. Walnut Creek, facebook​.com/Lotties​Creamery

Indian: Swad Indian Cuisine. Lafayette, theswadindia.com

Italian: Montecatini Ristorante. Walnut Creek, montecatinirestaurant​.com

Mexican: El Charro Mexican Dining. Lafayette, elcharro1947.com

New Restaurant: Locanda Positano. Lafayette, locandapositano.com

Peruvian: Parada. Walnut Creek, paradakitchen.com

Pizza: Zachary’s Chicago Pizza. Berkeley, Oakland, Pleasant Hill, and San Ramon; zacharys.com

Seafood: Walnut Creek Yacht Club. Walnut Creek, wcyc.net

Sushi: Sasa. Walnut Creek, sasawc.com

Thai: Kacha Thai Bistro. Walnut Creek, kachathai.com

Vietnamese: Vanessa’s Bistro 2. Walnut Creek, vanessasbistro2.com

 

Kids

Birthday Venue: Pump It Up. Concord, Oakland, Oakley, and Pleasanton; pumpitup​party.com

Family Photographer: Ultra-Spective Photography. Livermore, ultra-spective​.com

Indoor Play Space: Round One Bowling and Amusement. Concord, round1usa.com

Kids’ Classes: The Next Step Dance Studio. Danville, nextstepdance.com

Next-Level Gamer Haven: Gameday VR Lounge. Pleasanton and Walnut Creek, gamedayvr.com

Playground: Heather Farm Park. Walnut Creek, walnut-creek.org

Summer Camp: Performing Academy. Castro Valley, Lafayette, Pleasant Hill; performingacademy.com

Toy Store: Five Little Monkeys. Albany, Berkeley, and Walnut Creek; 5littlemonkeys.com

 

Nightlife

Craft Cocktails: The Last Word. Livermore, lastwordbar​.com

Dive Bar: The Roundup Saloon. Lafayette, rounduplafayette​.com

East Bay Brewery: Calicraft Brewing Co. Walnut Creek, calicraft.com

Happy Hour: Walnut Creek Yacht Club. Walnut Creek, wcyc.net

LGBTQ Bar: Club 1220. Walnut Creek, club1220.com

Live-Music Venue: WiseGirl Ristorante Italiano and Cocktails. Pleasant Hill, wisegirlph.com

New Club on the Block: Cornerstone Craft Beer and Live Music. Berkeley, cornerstoneberkeley.com

Wine Bar: Residual Sugar Wine Bar and Merchant. Walnut Creek, rswine.com

 

Pets

Animal Art Form: Van Gogh My Pet. Oakland, ​van​goghmypet.com

Dog-Training Classes: Tony La Russa’s Animal Rescue Foundation (ARF). Walnut Creek, arflife​.org

Dog Walker: Dog Tired Adventures. Alamo, Danville, and San Ramon, dogtiredadventuresca.com

Groomer: ShamPooches. San Ramon, shampooches.us

Overnight Pet Boarder: Club K9. Castro Valley, clubk9.com

Pet Photographer: Gretchen Adams. Concord, gretchen​​adams.com

Pet Store: Pet Food Express. Multiple locations, petfoodexpress.com

 

Shops and Services

Antiques Store: The Spotted Cow. Martinez, ​​spotted​cowvintage.com

Bike Shop: Livermore Cyclery. Alamo, Dublin, and Livermore; livermorecyclery​.com

Bookstore: Rakestraw Books. Danville, rakestrawbooks.com

Car Wash: Lafayette Car Wash and Detail Center. Lafayette, lafayettecarwash.com

Caterer: Sunrise Bistro and Catering. Walnut Creek, sunrisebistrocatering.com

Consignment Shop: Labels Luxury Consignment. Berkeley and Walnut Creek, labels​luxury.com

Cult Fashion Destination: McMullen. Piedmont, shopmcmullen.com

Dry Cleaner: Country Club Cleaners. Danville and San Ramon, countryclubcleaners.com

Gift Shop: Wish. Walnut Creek, wishwalnut​creek.com

Home Decor Boutique: Elsie Green. Concord, elsiegreen.com

Jewelry Store: Heller Jewelers. San Ramon, hellerjewelers.com

Landscaper: Laural Landscapes. Walnut Creek, laurallandscapes.com

Mechanic: Diablo Auto Specialists. Walnut Creek, diabloautospecialists.com

Men’s Clothing Store: Venture Quality Goods. Lafayette, venturegoods.com

Plant Nursery: Orchard Nursery. Lafayette, orchard​nursery.com

Shoe Store: Tootsies. Alameda and Oakland, www.tootsies​boutique.com

Specialty Shop: Amphora Nueva. Berkeley and Lafayette, amphora​nueva.com

Women’s Clothing Boutique: Vici. Walnut Creek, vicicollection.com

 

Weddings

Bachelorette Party Hot Spot: Tommy T’s. Pleasanton, tommyts​.com/pleasanton

Bridal Boutique: Kinsley James Couture Bridal. Walnut Creek, kinsley​james​.com

Florist: Florali. Walnut Creek, florali.com

Place for Prewedding Pampering: The Purple Orchid Wine Country Resort and Spa. Livermore, purpleorchid.com

Wedding Cakes: Katrina Rozelle Pastries and Desserts. Alamo and Oakland, katrina​rozelle​.com

Wedding Photographer: Josh Isaacs. Lafayette, jjisaacs.com

Wedding Planner: Eventfully Yours Event Designs. Concord, eventdesignsby​rayna​.com

Wedding Venue: Claremont Club and Spa. Berkeley, fairmont.com/claremontberkeley

 


Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags

Faces

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Find us on Facebook