Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

2019 Best of the East Bay: Complete List of Winners



Published:

Arts and Leisure

Animator: Domee Shi. instagram.com/domeeshi

Art Gallery: Bedford Gallery. Walnut Creek, bedfordgallery.org

Golf Course: Boundary Oak Golf Course. Walnut Creek, playboundaryoak​.com​

Movie Theater: Century Blackhawk Plaza. Danville, cinemark.com​

Museum: Oakland Museum of California. Oakland, museumca.org

Performing Arts Venue: Lesher Center for the Arts. Walnut Creek, lesherartscenter.org

Supportive Movie Star: Mahershala Ali

Tour: Local Food Adventures. Lafayette and Oakland, localfoodadventures.com

Trail: Lafayette Reservoir Rim Trail

 

Beauty and Wellness

Alternative Therapy: Majestic Massage. Walnut Creek, majestic-massage.com

Barbershop: Empire Barbershop. Concord and Martinez, empire-​barbershop.com

Blow-out Bar: Blow Dry Bar Studio. Danville and Walnut Creek, bdbstudio.com

Day Spa: Changes Salon and Day Spa. Walnut Creek, changessalon.com

Facial: Skin Ovations. Danville, skincareovations.com

Hair Salon: Caroline’s Salon. Lafayette, carolines​salon.net

Holistic Body-sculpting Experience: Sculptology​. Pleasanton, sculptology.com

Lash and Brow Treatments: The Lash Empire. Danville, thelashempiredanville.com

Nail Salon: Bollinger Nail Salon. Multiple locations, bollinger​nailsalon.com

 

Fitness

Dance Studio: The Ballet School Performing Arts. Walnut Creek, theballetschool.org

Fitness Studio: Bar Method. Multiple locations, barmethod.com

Gym/Sports Club: Renaissance ClubSport. Walnut Creek, renaissanceclubsport.com/walnut-creek

NBA Superstar–worthy Gym: Hub925. Pleasanton, hub925.org

Swim Spot: San Ramon Olympic Pool and Aquatic Center. San Ramon, sanramon.ca.gov

Workout Inspiration: Sandra Arechaederra. instagram.com/yogaliftersandra

Yoga Studio: Joya Yoga and Cycle. Multiple locations, joya​yoga.com

 

Food

Artisanal Dining Experience: Abstract Table. Oakland, abstracttable.com

Authentic Italian Ice Cream: Almare Gelato Italiano. Berkeley and Pleasanton, almaregelato.com

Bakery: A Sweet Affair Bakery. Walnut Creek, asweet​affairbakery​.com

Barbecue: Sauced BBQ and Spirits. Livermore and Walnut Creek, saucedbbqandspirits.com

Brunch: Millie’s Kitchen. Lafayette, millieskitchenca-hub​.com

Burger: Roam Artisan Burgers. Multiple locations, www.roamburgers.com

Chinese Restaurant: Uncle Yu’s. Lafayette, uncleyus.com

Coffeehouse: Coffee Shop. Multiple locations, coffeeshop411​.com

Deli: Genova Delicatessen. Walnut Creek, genovadeli.net

Eco-friendly Café: Rooted Coffee Co. Pleasant Hill, rootedcoffeeco.com

Experiential Eats: Classic Cars West Beer Garden. Oakland, classiccarswestbeergarden.com

Gluten-free Baked Goods: Mariposa Baking Co. Oakland, mariposabaking.com

Ice Cream: Lottie’s Creamery. Walnut Creek, facebook​.com/Lotties​Creamery

Indian Restaurant: Swad. Lafayette, theswadindia.com

Italian Restaurant: Montecatini Ristorante. Walnut Creek, montecatinirestaurant​.com

Mexican Restaurant: Los Panchos. Danville, lospanchosrestaurant.com

New Restaurant: Puesto. Concord, eatpuesto.com

Pizza Place: Paxti’s Pizza. Multiple locations, patxispizza.com

Peruvian Restaurant: Parada. Walnut Creek, paradakitchen.com

Prettiest Drinks: Telefèric Barcelona. Walnut Creek, telefericbarcelona.com

Seafood Restaurant: Walnut Creek Yacht Club. Walnut Creek, wcyc.net

Steak House: (tie) Flemings Prime Steakhouse. Walnut Creek, flemingssteakhouse.com and Forbes Mill Steakhouse. Danville, forbesmillsteakhouse.com

Sushi Spot: Sasa. Walnut Creek, sasawc.com

Thai Restaurant: Kacha Thai Bistro. Walnut Creek, kachathai.com

Vietnamese Restaurant: Vanessa’s Bistro 2. Walnut Creek, vanessasbistro2.com

 

Kids

Basketball Hub: John Muir Health Ultimate Fieldhouse. Walnut Creek, ultimatefieldhouse​.com

Birthday Party Venue: Pump It Up. Multiple locations, pumpitup​party.com

Creative Outdoor Play Space: Adventure Playground. Berkeley, cityof​berkeley.info

Dancers’ Dream Come True: Diablo Ballet School. Pleasant Hill, diabloballet.org

Kids’ Classes: Joy in Motion. Moraga, joyinmotiondance.org

Playground: Heather Farm Park. Walnut Creek, walnut-creek.org

Toy Store: Five Little Monkeys. Multiple locations, 5littlemonkeys.com

 

Nightlife

Craft Cocktails: The Last Word. Livermore, lastwordbar​.com

Dive Bar: Roundup Saloon. Lafayette, rounduplafayette​.com

Happy Hour: Revel Kitchen and Bar. Danville, revelkitchenandbar.com

LGBTQ+ Bar: Club 1220. Walnut Creek, club1220.com

Live Music Spot: WiseGirl Ristorante. Pleasant Hill, wisegirlph.com

Long-lived Pub: The Albatross. Berkeley, albatrosspub.com

Retro Nightclub: Retro Junkie. Walnut Creek, retrojunkiebar.com

Taproom/Brewery: Epidemic Ales. Concord, epidemicales.com

 

Pets

Cat Comedy Show: Cat People. Oakland, oaklandlayover.com

Dog-training Classes: Animal Rescue Foundation. Walnut Creek, arflife​.org

Dog Walker: Dog Tired Adventures. Danville, dogtiredadventuresca.com

Groomer: Shampooches. San Ramon, shampooches.us

Instagram Pet: Rocco Thompson. instagram​.com/rocco.thompson

Pet Photographer: Share the Joy Photography. Lafayette, sharethejoyphotography.com

Pet Store: Pet Food Express. Multiple locations, petfoodexpress.com

Rabbit Rescue Center: East Bay Rabbit Rescue. Dublin, eastbayrabbit.org

 

Shops and Services

Beauty Store: Lafayette Beauty. Lafayette, lafayettebeauty.net

Bookstore: Half Price Books. Multiple locations, hpb.com

Car Wash: Lafayette Car Wash and Detail Center. Lafayette, lafayettecarwash.com

Catering: Sunrise Bistro and Catering. Walnut Creek, sunrisebistrocatering.com

Consignment Shop: Labels Luxury Consignment. Walnut Creek, labels​luxury.com

Dry Cleaner: Country Club Cleaners. Multiple locations, countryclubcleaners.com

Gift Shop: Wish. Walnut Creek, wishwalnut​creek.com

Home Decor Store: Elsie Green. Concord, elsiegreen.com

Jewelry Store: Heller Jewelers. San Ramon, hellerjewelers.com

Landscaping: Laurel Landscapes. Walnut Creek, laurallandscapes.com

Mechanic: Frank’s Import Auto Repair. Concord, franksimportrepairservice.com

Men’s Clothing Store: Venture Quality Goods. Lafayette, venturegoods.com

Plant Nursery: Orchard Nursery. Lafayette, orchard​nursery.com

Plus-size Women’s Clothing Boutique: Harper Greer. Lafayette, harpergreer.com

Shoe Store: Tootsies. Alameda and Oakland, www.tootsies​boutique.com

Sports Goods Store: Sports Basement. Multiple locations, sportsbasement.com

Women’s Clothing Boutique: Vici. Walnut Creek, vicicollection.com

 

Weddings

Baker: Katrina Rozelle Pastries and Desserts. Alamo, katrina​rozelle​.com

Bespoke Gowns: Sasha Vermel Couture Bridal. Oakland, sashavermel.com

Bridal Boutique: Kinsley James Couture Bridal. Walnut Creek, kinsley​james​.com

East Bay Wedding Venue: Claremont Club and Spa. Berkeley, fairmont.com/claremontberkeley

Florist: Florali. Walnut Creek, florali.com

Flower Crowns: Angel’s Petals. Martinez, angelspetals.biz

Photographer: Josh Isaacs Photography. Lafayette, jjisaacs.com

Photography Alternative: Live painting by Nate Toutjian. Oakland, nathaniel-toutjian-mw6j.squarespace.com

Wedding Planner: Eventfully Yours Event Designs. Concord, eventdesignsby​rayna​.com

 


Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags

Faces

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Find us on Facebook