DM2107_010_DIG1.png

Walnut Creek’s Ruth Bancroft Garden and Nursery boasts agaves, aloes, cacti, and more.

BEST SPOTS TO MEET THE MAKERS

Check out handcrafted items at local markets.

Over the past year, while small businesses have been hit hard, communities have come together to celebrate local entrepreneurs, giving them a chance to shine. Here in the East Bay, artists, craftspeople, and designers have showcased their unique products at open-air markets, much to the delight 
of shoppers.

DM2107_075_DIG1.png

At Walnut Creek’s Makers Market, shop for handcrafted locally made products. 

Walnut Creek’s Makers Market—both a store and monthly market in Broadway Plaza—attracts all kinds of makers with items that 
are well designed, sustainable, 
and ethically produced. Jewelry,
 home goods, apparel, beauty 
supplies, candles, and CBD products are just some of the goods that can be found at the store and online. For a larger selection from more than 100 makers, visit the outdoor market, which is free to attend and includes live music and food and drink from the surrounding eateries. makersmarket.us.

On the other side of the Caldecott Tunnel, check out Berkeley’s Fourth Street Maker’s
Row, a community marketplace filled with 
individual kiosks for small business owners to set up shop. This pop-up design gives visitors the chance to interact with the makers and their products. Come out 
every weekend, both Saturday and Sunday. fourthstreetmakersrow.com.

In the Tri-Valley, head to Fortune 
Emporium, a downtown Livermore boutique that hosts Batch: A Maker’s Market every third Sunday from May through November on Second Street. In support of the artisan community, Batch features the collections 
of more than 30 makers, as well as art 
and music. fortuneemporium.com.

DM2107_023_DIG1.png

Beyond Active

READERS' PICKS

ACTIVEWEAR SHOP

Beyond Active, Danville, shopbeyondactive.com.

Runner-up | Venture Quality Goods, Lafayette, venturegoods.com.

BEAUTY STORE

Remedy + Ritual, Pleasant Hill, theremedyandritual.com.

Runner-up | Mighty Market, 
Martinez, mighty.market.

DM2107_011_DIG1.png

Mike’s Bikes

BICYCLE SHOP

Mike’s Bikes, multiple 
locations, mikesbikes.com.

Runner-up | Encina Bicycle Centers, multiple locations, encinabicycle
centers.com.

BOOKSTORE

Rakestraw Books, Danville, rakestrawbooks.com.

Runner-up | Bel and Bunna’s Books, Lafayette, belandbunnasbooks.com.

GIFT SHOP

Wish, Walnut Creek, 
wishwalnutcreek.com.

Runner-up | Lemon, Danville and Lafayette, lemongiftshop.com.

DM2107_006_DIG1.png

Heller Jewelers

JEWELRY STORE

Heller Jewelers, San Ramon, hellerjewelers.com.

The magic is in the mix. There’s a special something that makes Heller Jewelers stand out from the rest. Their sensibility for sharing interesting, useful, and beautiful objects paired with warm customer service and unparalleled creativity makes all the difference. –K.K., Sonoma

Runner-up | JBJ Curated Goods, Walnut Creek, jbjshop.com.

DM2107_032_DIG1.png

Venture Quality Goods

MEN’S CLOTHING STORE

Venture Quality Goods, 
Lafayette, venturegoods.com.

Runner-up | Coastal Wilderness, Oakley, coastalwilderness.com.

PLANT NURSERY

Ruth Bancroft Garden and Nursery, Walnut Creek,ruthbancroftgarden.org.

Runner-up | Orchard Nursery, 
Lafayette, orchardnursery.com.

SHOPPING CENTER

Broadway Plaza, Walnut Creek, broadwayplaza.com.

Runner-up | City Center 
Bishop Ranch, San Ramon, 
citycenterbishopranch.com.

DM2107_044_DIG1.png

Sports Basement

SPORTING GOODS STORE

Sports Basement, multiple 
locations, sportsbasement.com.

TRAVEL AGENCY

Travel Adventures Unlimited, Walnut Creek, traveladventures​unlimited.com.

Runner-up | All Business Class, 
San Ramon, allbusinessclass.com.

WATCHES

Heller Jewelers, San Ramon, hellerjewelers.com.

Runner-up | Davidson and Licht, Walnut Creek, davidsonandlicht
.com.

WOMEN’S CLOTHING 
BOUTIQUE

Luck, Lafayette,lucklafayette.com.

Runner-up | Bliss Danville, Danville, blissdanville.com.

WINE SHOP

Prima Vini Wine Merchants, Walnut Creek, primavini.com.

Runner-up | Wine Thieves, 
Lafayette, winethieves.com.

DM2107_005_DIG1.png

Vision Dynamics

EYEGLASS STORE

Vision Dynamics, Danville, vision-dynamics.com.

Runner-up | Luminance Vision 
Optometry, Lafayette, luminance
vision.com.

MUSICAL INSTRUMENT STORE

Lamorinda Music, Lafayette, lamorindamusic.com.

Runner up: Countrywood Music, Walnut Creek, countrywoodmusic.com.

TATTOO PIERCING STUDIO

Eleven Mag Tattoo, Brentwood

Runner-up: Calculated Punkture Studio, Brentwood, calpunkstudio.com.

THRIFT SHOP

Youth Homes Thrift Shop, Pleasant Hill, youthhomes.org.

Runner-up: Hospice Thrift Shoppes, multiple locations, hospiceeastbay.org.

EDITORS' PICKS

BEST SUSTAINABLE FURNITURE

Bay Area Redwood, San Ramon

Looking for a new coffee table or desk? How about some wood coasters, a charcuterie board, or wine barrels? Visit San Ramon’s City Center Bishop Ranch to view the Bay Area Redwood showroom. The wood used to create the items is locally sourced and repurposed, as the company’s mission is to reclaim urban felled redwood trees and keep them out of landfills. To see the full inventory, make 
an appointment to visit the warehouse in 
Livermore. bayarearedwood.com.

MOST INSPIRED RETAIL SPACE

Sweet July, Oakland

For chef, author, and entrepreneur Ayesha Curry, the phrase “sweet July” comes from “a feeling of happiness,” and is something she hopes will become a movement. Sweet July, her new lifestyle store and café in Uptown Oakland, was launched with the intention of helping others find joy and inspiration. All products—bedding, stationery, kitchenware, beauty products, jewelry, and more—are from Bay Area makers and Black-owned companies, and are high quality and affordable. Charming and aesthetically pleasing, the retail space is the perfect spot to browse or grab a cup of coffee. sweetjuly.com.

DM2107_007_DIG1.png

Find on-trend footwear at On the Edge in City Center Bishop Ranch.

MOST SENSIBLY STYLISH SHOES

On the Edge Shoes, Danville and San Ramon

A family-run boutique, On the Edge Shoes has it all—boots, sneakers, flats, heels, and sandals—for women, men, and kids. 
Situated in both City Center Bishop Ranch and Blackhawk Plaza, these shoe shops carry 
a wide variety of trendy and functional brands, including Birkenstock, Free People, 
Olukai, and Miz Mooz. Along with superb
service, customers can also find accessories 
like sunglasses, purses, socks, belts, and 
jewelry. shopontheedge.com.

BEST INTERIOR DESIGN SHOP

KM Home, Danville

Kriste Michelini Interiors, an award-winning design firm, opened its storefront in Danville in late 2020. With two decades of design 
experience, Kriste Michelini brings her style, knowledge, and passion to all kinds of projects and has fashioned beautiful and original 
spaces. Now, she’s created the ultimate 
shopping experience filled with classic, contemporary, and inspiring decor and 
accessories. The exclusive home goods are
 selected from local businesses and 
artisans and include art, rugs, pillows, 
books, and other items for a variety of 
spaces. shopkmhome.com.

MOST EMPOWERING FASHION DESIGNER

Stella Carakasi, Berkeley

One size doesn’t fit all. This is something that Stella Carakasi, the cofounder and creative 
director of her eponymous brand and Berkeley
 store, is very familiar with. Carakasi 
always knew she wanted to be a fashion 
designer—but she recognized that the
 industry needed to change. So, she set out to make high-quality and luxurious size-inclusive women's clothing, abandoning the plus-size label for an expanded size range. In doing 
so, she has embraced different body 
types and encouraged women to feel more beautiful, self-confident, and comfortable. stellacarakasi.com.